Whitney Biennial Visit

Many of those who know me, know that I am not shy about stating the obvious. For instance: If you invite me to a party and the party is boring, I am not going to lie to you and say “It’s an O.K. party”, which will be the polite thing to say. I am going to speak the truth and say, “this party sucks”. Some people might not view this as prudent, especially my mom, but why beat around the bush?

With that in mind, I would like to share with you my experience last week during my visit to the Whitney Museum.

I was very excited, especially after the Whitney Biennial exhibit was mentioned by Viveros-Faune from the village voice in his predictions article

and decided to invite my fellow Artsnapper team member, Sofia and  my good friend, DJ Alex Edge. I cannot speak for them, but based on our conversation, they didn’t seem overly thrilled with their visit.

I can honestly say I did not enjoy the art aside from Jasper Johns 3 flags and Lee Krasner’s “The Seasons,” both located on the 6th floor and a window that has the NYC skyline as a backdrop located on the 5th floor.  The rest of it was a bit too “out there” with too much cultural context, which doesn’t speak or make me feel anything aside from wondering how can this be at a museum. To top it off, as I was exiting the building, visitors were howling like wolves to live music being performed in the lobby. Strange.

For those of you who have not visited the I am not deterring you from going, but just giving you a fair warning. The exhibition will be available until May 22nd. For those of you who don’t agree with what I am saying, please do share your thoughts.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Artsnapper Releases Private Beta | artsnapper - May 24, 2012

    […] Whitney Biennial Visit (artsnapper.wordpress.com) Share this:EmailShare on TumblrDigg Pin ItPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Blog art, Art world, artsnapper, Cristian Valbuena, New York City, Visual Arts […]

Leave a comment